Basic Resources
- PILOT
North Hall Library's Online Catalog - NetLibrary
eBooks - Databases
North Hall Library's collection of online databases - Journals List
All the journal titles at North Hall Library - Interlibrary Loan
For access to materials not owned by North Hall Library - Citation Style Guides How to cite in APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian, plus citation managers Noodle Tools and RefWorks
- WebFeat Search lots of different databases at once. A good way to find out which database(s) contain(s) the most information on your topic.
Reference Resources
- Biography Research Guide (Women) Some general women's biography sources from the Library's Biography Research Guide.
- Biography Resource Center Biographical information about notable people
- The Craft of Research Book Stacks
Q180.55.M4 B66 2003 - Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature Book Stacks
PN471 .W455 2004 - Encyclopedia of Women and Gender Reference Stacks
HQ1115 .E52 2001 - Literature Resource Center A complete literature reference database for information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
- The Oxford Guide to Library Research Book Stacks
Z710 .M23 2005 - Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women Reference Stacks
HQ1115 .R69 2000 - Women's Studies Encyclopedia Reference Stacks
HQ1115 .W645 1999
Looking for Articles?
- Academic OneFile General database covering a wide variety of subjects
- Academic Search Complete General database covering a wide variety of subjects
- JSTOR Full text digital archive featuring many important Humanities journals
- Project Muse
Up-to-date full text of a number of important Humanities journals
Welcome!
Welcome to the Women's Studies Research Guide!
Here you can find resources to help you learn about women's history, think about gender, write a research paper, and navigate around the library.
Have questions? Just ask one of your friendly reference librarians!
Phone: (570) 662-4671
Email: libref@mansfield.edu
AIM: NorthHallLibrary
FAQ: http://lib.mansfield.edu/howdoi.cfm
MU Women's Studies web page: http://mansfield.edu/womens-studies/
Internet Resources
- American Women's History: A Research Guide Provides citations to print and Internet reference sources, as well as to selected large primary source collections. The guide also provides information about the tools researchers can use to find additional books, articles, dissertations, and primary sources.
- Early Modern Women Database Provides links to Web resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas. It focuses on the period from ca. 1500 to ca. 1800 and includes links to Web sites about the Medieval period and 19th Century as well.
- Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer Culture A free online encyclopedia devoted to gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer (glbtq) education and culture.
- Feminist.com A comprehensive site with news, articles, speeches, classifieds, and numerous additional resources.
- The National Organization for Women NOW is the largest, most comprehensive feminist advocacy group in the United States.
- Voice of the Shuttle: Gender and Sexuality Studies From the University of California at Santa Barbara, a broad-based site with links to resources in Women's Studies & Feminist Theory; Gay, Lesbian and Queer Studies; Men's Movements; and Cybergender and Techgender.
- WESSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies Websites From the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a list of sites by topic. Comprehensive, well-organized, and well-maintained.
- Women's Studies in Digital Archives The purpose of Women’s Studies in Digital Archives is to provide access to primary source materials for women's studies within digital archives. Although not comprehensive, it is a starting point for discovering some of the wonderful resources for women's studies that have only recently become widely available with the practice of digitizing select primary source materials from special collections.
- Women's Studies Online Resources This site by Joan Korenman at the University of Maryland-Baltimore is valuable for its careful organization and selection, and regular updating.
Google Scholar
Did you know that when you're on campus Google Scholar will tell you whether Mansfield has access to an article you've found? Try it! And don't forget about the Advanced Scholar Search!
(search results open in a new window)
Reference Librarian |
Wendy HardenbergOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
139 North Hall Library
(570) 662-4686
Send Email
Subjects:
English & Modern Language & Literature, Music, Philosophy, Women's Studies
![]() |
Contact Info:
139 North Hall Library
(570) 662-4686
Send Email
Subjects:
English & Modern Language & Literature, Music, Philosophy, Women's Studies
What do you think?
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait