Basic Resources
- PILOT
North Hall Library's Online Catalog - NetLibrary
eBooks - Databases
North Hall Library's collection of online databases - Journals List
All the journal titles at North Hall Library - Interlibrary Loan
For access to materials not owned by North Hall Library - Citation Style Guides How to cite in APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian, plus citation managers Noodle Tools and RefWorks
- WebFeat Search lots of different databases at once. A good way to find out which database(s) contain(s) the most information on your topic.
Reference Resources
- The Craft of Research Book Stacks
Q180.55.M4 B66 2003 - Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion: Eastern and Western Thought Reference Stacks
B41 .R43 1996 - Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics Reference Stacks
BJ63 .A66 1998 - Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment Reference Stacks
B802 .W48 2004 - The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy Reference Stacks
B41 .B53 1996 - The Philosophy of Law: An Encyclopedia Reference Stacks
K204 .P49 1999 - The Philosophy Student Writer's Manual Reference Stacks
B52.7 .G73 1998 - Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Reference Stacks
B51 .R68 1998
Looking for Articles?
- Academic OneFile General database covering a wide variety of subjects
- Academic Search Complete General database covering a wide variety of subjects
- Philosopher's Index A current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy
- Project Muse Up-to-date full text of a number of important Humanities journals, including philosophy
Welcome!
Welcome to the Philosophy Research Guide!
Here you can find resources to help you ponder the universe, write a research paper, and navigate around the library.
Have questions? Just ask one of your friendly reference librarians!
Phone: (570) 662-4671
Email: libref@mansfield.edu
AIM: NorthHallLibrary
FAQ: http://lib.mansfield.edu/howdoi.cfm
MU Philosophy Department web page: http://mansfield.edu/philosophy/
Philosophy Websites
- AskPhilosophers.org A site where you can ask questions of real philosophers and get informative, insightful answers. You can also look at past questions with their answers and peruse the list of related sites.
- EpistemeLinks.com An all encompassing source about many different aspects of philosophy including E-texts, bibliography, and job listings.
- Ethics Update Designed primarily to be used by ethics instructors and their students. Intended to provide resources and updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy Free online encyclopedia that contains articles written by philosophy professors from around the world.
- Noesis: Philosophical Research Online A limited area search engine for open access, academic philosophy on the Internet.
- PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy A comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy Another free online encyclopedia maintained primarily by professors at Stanford University.
- Voice of the Shuttle: Philosophy From the University of California at Santa Barbara, a broad-based site with links to various philosophical resources.
Associations, Organizations and Directories
- American Association of Philosophy Teachers
- American Philosophical Association
- American Society for Aesthetics
- Association for Symbolic Logic
- British Society for Philosophy of Science
- FoLLI: the European Association for Logic, Language and Information
- Philosophy of Science Association
- Society for Women in Philosophy
Reference Librarian |
Wendy HardenbergOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
139 North Hall Library
(570) 662-4686
Send Email
Subjects:
English & Modern Language & Literature, Music, Philosophy, Women's Studies
![]() |
Contact Info:
139 North Hall Library
(570) 662-4686
Send Email
Subjects:
English & Modern Language & Literature, Music, Philosophy, Women's Studies
What do you think?
Google Scholar
Did you know that when you're on campus Google Scholar will tell you whether Mansfield has access to an article you've found? Try it! And don't forget about the Advanced Scholar Search!
(search results open in a new window)
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait