Basic Resources
- PILOT
North Hall Library's Online Catalog - NetLibrary
eBooks - Databases
North Hall Library's collection of online databases - Journals List
All the journal titles at North Hall Library - Interlibrary Loan
For access to materials not owned by North Hall Library - Citation Style Guides How to cite in APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian, plus citation managers Noodle Tools and RefWorks
- WebFeat Search lots of different databases at once. A good way to find out which database(s) contain(s) the most information on your topic.
Reference Resources
- African American Music Reference

- Classical Music Reference Library

- Classical Scores Library
- The Craft of Research Book Stacks
Q180.55.M4 B66 2003 - Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

- Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia

- Oxford Guide to Library Research Book Stacks
Z710 .M23 2005 - Oxford Music Online Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music
Looking for Articles?
- ERIC Education Resource Information Center (good for articles on music education)
- JSTOR Full text digital archive featuring many important music journals
- Music Index Single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature, 1973-present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes.
Listen to Music Online
- African American Song Diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others
- American Song Music from America's past
- Classical Music Library World's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings
- Contemporary World Music Sounds of all regions from every continent
- Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project Digital collection of nearly 8,000 cylinder recordings from the turn of the 20th century
- Hear Here The Royal Philharmonic Society Classic FM
- NPR Music National Public Radio
- Smithsonian Global Sound Virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions
Welcome!
Welcome to the Music Research Guide!
Here you can find resources to help you learn a song, teach a class, write a research paper, and navigate around the library.
Have questions? Just ask one of your friendly reference librarians!
Phone: (570) 662-4671
Email: libref@mansfield.edu
AIM: NorthHallLibrary
FAQ: http://lib.mansfield.edu/howdoi.cfm
MU Music Department web page: http://music.mansfield.edu/
Did You Know?
Did you know that you can listen to records, cassette tapes, and CDs right here in the library? Just check out a key to one of our listening/viewing rooms!
Searching for Scores and Sound Recordings
Scores and CDs are located in the Music Library on the 1st floor South. Cassettes and Records (called "phonodiscs" in PILOT) are located in the closed stacks--ask for them at the Information Desk on 2nd floor North (you can still check them out!).
There are a few different ways to use PILOT to find scores and sound recordings located in our Library:
- Guided Search
- Click on “Search Limits” at the bottom right
- Limit the Item Type to “Musical Recording” or “Music Score”
- Click on "Set Limits" at the bottom of the page
- Perform your search (remember not to type "and" in the Guided Search)
- Basic Search
- Under “Search by” select “Keyword Boolean Search”
- Set Single Limit to “Musical Score”, “Sound Recording”, or "Music CD"
- Combine keywords with the word “and”
For example: Mozart and concertos and horn- Select your two or three keywords from among the following information:
- Composer
- Title or portion of title
- Instrument(s)
- Distinctive number(s) (opus or thematic index numbers)
- Performer(s)
- Key
- Select your two or three keywords from among the following information:
Dissertations
To obtain a dissertation, you can try to borrow it through ILL, but be aware that most institutions do not lend dissertations, or they charge for lending. It is also possible to purchase copies of most dissertations.
If you don't find an appropriate dissertation citation, go to the Information Desk. Any of the librarians can help you do a special database search for dissertations.
See also our Dissertations & Theses page.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Use RILM to find both doctoral and non-doctoral dissertations. Use the Advanced Search to limit the Document Type to "All Dissertations".
- Music Index Online Music Index is best used when searching for music education dissertations. Dissertation citations are taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. To search for only dissertations, use the “Expert” search and select “dissertation” next to “Document Type”.
- WorldCat Search for dissertations at over 10,000 libraries around the world. Just use the "Advanced Search" feature and change the "Content" to "Thesis/Dissertation".
Composer Information
- Grove Music Online This is THE music encyclopedia and the best place to start when looking for information about music-related people. The online version includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Jazz, and New Grove Opera.
- Subject Research Guides Music Reference - 1st Floor South
ML128-ML134
Research guides list potential sources for specific subjects such as Beethoven, Copland, and many others. - Biography Research Guide (Musicians) Some general music biography sources from the Library's Biography Research Guide.
Uniform Titles
What is a Uniform Title? Why does it matter?
Almost all scores and sound recordings (CDs, cassettes, and records) in the library have Uniform Titles. Uniform Titles help organize music materials, so that the many versions of one work are brought together under one heading in the online catalog. Understanding Uniform Titles can help you search more efficiently for scores and sound recordings.
For additional help on Uniform Titles, see Making the Most of the Music Library: Using Uniform Titles from the Cook Music Library at Indiana University. This site provides detailed information about uniform titles and a great tutorial which assists users in understanding and creating uniform titles.
Google Scholar
Did you know that when you're on campus Google Scholar will tell you whether Mansfield has access to an article you've found? Try it! And don't forget about the Advanced Scholar Search!
(search results open in a new window)
Reference Librarian |
Wendy Hardenberg![]() |
Contact Info:
139 North Hall Library
(570) 662-4686
Send Email
Subjects:
English & Modern Language & Literature, Music, Philosophy, Women's Studies
What do you think?
EAR
Listening assignments for some music classes are available online. Electronic Audio Reserves (EAR) are available to all Mansfield University students, faculty, and staff.
Note: Your computer must have a sound card, headphones or speakers, and Adobe Flash Version 7 or higher.
- EAR Log in with your Campus Services ID and password. Note: Use mansfield.edu rather than mounties.mansfield.edu after the @ symbol.
Music Websites
- All About Jazz
- ChoralNet: The Global Choral Community
- The Gilbert and Sullivan Archive
- Global Music Archive
- The Hiphop Archive
- The Leonard Bernstein Collection
- OperaGlass
- Online Music Resources (University of Washington)
- Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard)
- Sheet Music Consortium
- Virtual Instrument Museum
- Worldwide Internet Music Resources (Indiana University)
- WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists
- Voice of the Shuttle: Music

Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait