Author of the Month

Frederick Douglass
1818 - 1895
American abolitionist
- Douglass in Biography Resource Center
- My Bondage and My Freedom Book Stacks
E449 .D738 1968
"Born a slave, Douglass became an outspoken force in the antislavery movement. The best of Douglass's autobiographies. Graphic description of slave life." -- Google Books
Basic Resources
- PILOT
North Hall Library's Online Catalog - NetLibrary
eBooks - Databases
North Hall Library's collection of online databases - Journals List
All the journal titles at North Hall Library - Interlibrary Loan
For access to materials not owned by North Hall Library - Citation Style Guides How to cite in APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian, plus citation managers Noodle Tools and RefWorks
Reference Resources
- Biography Resource Center Biographical information about notable people
- The Craft of Research Book Stacks
Q180.55.M4 B66 2003 - Encyclopedia Britannica Online
- Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century Reference Stacks
PN771 .E5 1999 - Gale Literary Index
Online master index to Gale's literary reference series (e.g. Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Poetry Criticism, etc.) - A Glossary of Literary Terms Book Stacks
PN41 .A184 2005 - The Oxford Guide to Library Research Book Stacks
Z710 .M23 2005 - Oxford English Dictionary Online version of the OED
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Online bilingual dictionaries for Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish
Welcome!
Welcome to the Language & Literature Research Guide!
Here you can find resources to help you learn a language, write a research paper, and navigate around the library.
Have questions? Just ask one of your friendly reference librarians!
Phone: (570) 662-4671
Email: libref@mansfield.edu
AIM: NorthHallLibrary
Book Reviews vs. Literary Criticism
What's the Difference?
Almost any book can have a book review published about it, although not every book does. There are book reviews of both fiction and nonfiction, both scholarly and popular works. Book reviews may vary in length from a few sentences to several pages. Literary criticism is a more in-depth analysis of the work in question, including more interpretation and evaluation.
Resources for Book Reviews
- Academic OneFile
- Academic Search Complete General databases, each with many full-text reviews. Try entering the title of the book and the word "review" into the search box (e.g. "Bluest Eye" AND review).
- AllReaders.com Interesting search engine for identifying books and book reviews by character, genre, plot, style, and theme. Subject categories consist of Biographies, History, Literature, Mystery & Adventure, Romance, and Sci-fi/Fantasy.
- Atlantic Monthly Books Provides reviews, excerpts and author interviews for new books.
- Literature Resource Center "Reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies. (After your search, select the Reviews and News tab.)"
Resources for Literary Criticism
- Academic OneFile
- Academic Search Complete In these two general databases, you can try searching for the title of the book and the word 'criticism' (e.g. "Bluest Eye" AND criticism) or you can search for the title plus the aspect of the book that interests you (e.g. "Bluest Eye" AND beauty).
- Literature Resource Center An electronic library consisting of criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists.
- MLA International Bibliography Since this is an international bibliography, it contains resources in many different languages. If you think you've found something useful, make sure it's written in a language you can understand.
- Literary Criticism Collection (Internet Public Library) Links to over 4,000 websites providing literary criticism and other information about authors.
Looking for Articles?
- Academic OneFile General database covering a wide variety of subjects
- Academic Search Complete General database covering a wide variety of subjects
- JSTOR Full text digital archive featuring many important Humanities journals
- Project Muse
Up-to-date full text of a number of important Humanities journals
Google Scholar
Did you know that when you're on campus Google Scholar will tell you whether Mansfield has access to an article you've found? Try it! And don't forget about the Advanced Scholar Search!
(search results open in a new window)
Reference Librarian |
Wendy Hardenberg139 North Hall Library
(570) 662-4686
Send Email
Subjects:
Language and Literature, Music, Philosophy, Women's Studies
What do you think?
World Literature
Looking for something to read that isn't generally taught at Mansfield?
Try browsing the 4th Floor stacks for some world lit!
African - PL8009.5-8014
Arabic - PJ7501-PJ8517
Celtic - PB1001-PB3029
Chinese - PL2250-PL3208
Danish - PT7601-PT8260
Dutch - PT5001-PT5980
Greek - PA3050-PA5660
Indo-Aryan - PK2901-PK5471
Italian - PQ4001-PQ5999
Japanese - PL700-PL889
Korean - PL950-PL998
Latin - PA8001-PA8595
Persian - PK6400-PK6599.7
Portuguese - PQ9000-PQ9999
Roman - PA6000-PA6971
Scandinavian - PT7001-PT7099, PT8301-PT9155, and PT9201-PT9999
Slavic (non-Russian) - PG500-PG1962 and PG3801-7925
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait