Government Websites
- NOAA
- NOAA's Climate Analysis Branch
- Pennsylvania Geologic SurveyContains digital geospatial data, information on PA's geologic hazards and groundwater, and collection of maps and photographs.
- State Data Centers
- Tiger Mapping ServiceUS Census data available in map format
- U.S. Census Bureau
- US GazetteerSearchable database of geographic places, with links to the Tiger Map Service. (US Census Bureau)
- U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Maps
- PennDOT Road MapsCounty, township, borough, railroad and other maps. Detailed enough to show every street in the state. File sizes are large, but they are the most accurate maps for the state.
- World MapperDisplays maps of the world where statistical data is represented by the proportional size of countries.
- Current Maps online:
- Alexandria Digital Library Gazetteer (US)
- CIA World Factbook Reference Maps (US & world)
- Color Landform Atlas of the United States
- National AtlasTopical US maps
- TerraServerAerial and topographic maps of the United States
- TopoZoneTopographic maps from the USGS
- UN Maps and Geographic Information Resources
- Historical Map Collections online:
- Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection
- David Rumsey Map Collection
- Library of Congress Map Collection: 1500-2003
Geography Websites
- Geographic NamesLook up names and locations of places in the US and its territories based on location or feature type.
- Geography NetworkAwesome virtual library of worldwide sites that provide maps, geographic data, and much more. Try especially their Geography Network Explorer, an interactive tool for locating geographic information.
- Pennsylvania Spatial Data AccessThis site contains data, maps and other geospatial information on Pennsylvania, including information on watersheds and wildlife.
Related Sites
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
