Librarians by Subject AreaBakley, KimberlyBook, NicholeDiMarco, ScottGarrison, FrancesGuinn, DavidHarris, JameyKasperek, SheilaSanko, AmandaSeymour, TimSyrett, MatthewWilliams, BethYamashita, SylviaAll Library Faculty & Staff
All Library ServicesAsk a LibrarianBorrowing Materials: Library Circulation ServicesCommunity Users: Library Courtesy PatronsCommunity Users/Visitors Under the Age of 18Copyright Clearance Center InfoEAR Audio ReservesFaculty Services from the LibraryFax ServiceHelp @ the LibraryInterlibrary Loan ServicesInternational Film SeriesLibrary InstructionMedia ItemsReserves & EARResources for Online StudentsRooms in the LibrarySchool Group VisitationsTechnical Services DepartmentThesis Binding
All Library PoliciesAccess Policy for Gov DocsAccess to MU ArchivesAppeals to Fines Form (PDF)Appeals to Fines and Fees PolicyCode of ConductCollection Development PolicyComputer/Internet Use PolicyCopyright Information and PoliciesCourse Reserve PolicyDisaster Recovery Plan (PDF)Donations to the LibraryFood, Drink & Tobacco PolicyMission StatementPoster/Flyer Display PolicyQuiet/Noise PolicyStudent Use of RoomsUSA Patriot Act & the LibraryVision Statements for the Library
Faculty Photocopy RequestProxy Patron RequestState Library Resources for FacultyDistance Education & the Library: A Guide for Faculty
North Hall Past and Present: A Virtual Tour
This is the "Info for Faculty" page of the "Library Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
North Hall Library Mansfield University Chat

Library Information  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014 URL: http://mansfield.libguides.com/info Print Guide

Info for Faculty Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Information on Library Services for Faculty

The North Hall library offers many services to both the faculty and students at Mansfield University.  If you have specific questions and concerns about any of these services, please contact the liaison assigned to your department.

Liaisons
While any of the library faculty can help you with your basic information/library needs, each department has been assigned a librarian to serve as the primary point of contact for your department for a variety of duties such as ordering materials and providing presentations. For a list of current liaisons, visit the Library Subject Liaisons page.

Ordering Materials
The library has money allocated for the purchase of new library materials for every academic department. It is essential that you work with both your liaison and the other members of your department to select materials that are both appropriate to the curriculum and  will keep the library collection balanced. You can request materials by contacting your liaison directly or by filling out the Request for New Library Materials form.

Courseware Support
The library has guides for you to add links to articles in library databases into your Desire2Learn courses.

Library Assignments
Many professors make assignments to be completed in the library. If you need help designing an assignment or identifying specific resources for an assignment, contact your liaison librarian. Please also encourage your students to ask for help from a librarian if they have problems with an assignment.

Photocopying Service
The library will photocopy articles from journals it owns at no cost. All requests for photocopying should be made through Illiad.

Requests generally take 1-2 working days and can be picked up at the library, mailed, faxed, or emailed to you. ERIC documents on microfiche will not be photocopied. Copyright law governs the copying of all material.

Circulating Items
Faculty can check out materials from the general circulating collection for the length of the semester. Bestsellers and media items have shorter circulation periods.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Books and journal articles not available in the library may be obtained from other lending institutions. Requests can be made using the Interlibrary Loan services.

Reserve Materials
The library will place materials on reserve for student use. Please allow at least 2 days to process print or media reserves. Bring reserve material to the Circulation Desk for processing. Items that are available at the library can be placed on reserve by using the online reserve request forms available from the Reserves: General Information page.

Online Databases
The list of online databases available at North Hall Library is changing constantly. Most indexes are now accessible from off-campus and full-text articles are available for more and more journals. For a complete listing of all the available databases please visit the library's Databases page. The State Library of Pennsylvania now offers databases to PASSHE employees. View the page on accessing state library resources for more information.

Table of Content and Search Alert Service
EBSCOhost also offers table of contents and search alerts to all students and faculty. Use the My EBSCOhost feature to set up alerts.

Other Resources & Services

  • Tours/presentations... Schedule your class for a presentation or tour customized to your class/students’ needs.
  • Online course guides... A library guide for a class or a specific assignment can be developed by your liaison librarian.
  • Librarians... Faculty as well as students often overlook librarians as resources. Librarians can assist you with using the technology available at the library, locating facts and verifying citations. Please feel free to contact your liaison librarian with any problems or suggestions, and encourage your students to do the same.
 

LibQual Report

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip