North Hall Library

 

Linking to Articles

Linking to Library Articles

Want to share an online article with your students?

For most databases, you can't simply copy the URL of the page. You need to take a few extra steps to make sure your students can get to the article you want them to read.

Use the guide below to create permanent links to articles from library databases. Post the links in Desire2Learn, online, or email them. If you follow the steps below, the links will work everywhere!

Library Prefix

You will need to add the Library Prefix to most of the links. Here's the Library Prefix for easy copy and pasting:

http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=

Linking to Library Resources

Database Getting the Link Formatting the Link

Alexander Street Press Music Online

  1. Locate the item and view the full text, image,  music track, or video
  2. Click on Embed/Link
  3. Copy the URL
  4. Add Library Prefix if necessary (see info on the right)

 

See screenshotView Screenshot
of Link Location

If you copied the link on campus, you need to add the Library Prefix.

Example Link:

  • http://aamr.alexanderstreet.com/View/309569

Example Link with Library Prefix:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://aamr.alexanderstreet.com/View/309569

If you copied the link off campus, you are done.

Example Link:

  • http://aamr.alexanderstreet.com.proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/View/309569

Alexander Street Press

New Interface

  1. Locate the item and view the full text, image,  music track, or video
  2. Click on Embed
  3. Copy the Permalink URL
  4. Add Library Prefix if necessary (see info on the right)

If you wish to embed the video, you will need to insert the Library Prefix into the embed code. It goes directly before the http in the code.

View Screenshot
of Link Location

If you copied the link on campus, you need to add the Library Prefix.

Example Link:

  • http://search.alexanderstreet.com/vast/view/work/1797078?play=1

Example Link with Library Prefix:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://search.alexanderstreet.com/vast/view/work/1797078?play=1

If you copied the link off campus, you are done.

Example Link:

  • http://search.alexanderstreet.com.proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/vast/view/work/1797078?play=1
BioOne
  1. Open the PDF of the article
  2. Copy the URL of the article in the PDF
  3. Add the Library Prefix

 

See screenshot
View Screenshot
of Link Location

Example Link:

  • http://www.bioone.org/doi/pdf/10.1614/0890-037X%282000%29014%5B0826%3ACPPRL%5D2.0.CO%3B2

Example Link with Library Prefix:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://www.bioone.org/doi/pdf/10.1614/0890-037X%282000%29014%5B0826%3ACPPRL%5D2.0.CO%3B2
CQ Researcher
  1. Locate and view the full text
  2. Copy the Document URL at the bottom of the page
  3. Add the Library Prefix

 

See screenshot
View Screenshot
of Link Location

Example Link:

  • http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/cqresrre2001033000

Example Link with Library Prefix:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/
    cqresearcher/cqresrre2001033000
ebrary
  1. Locate the book you want to link to
  2. Copy the URL
  3. In ebrary, click on "Release this title"

 

See screenshotView Screenshot
of Link Location

Example Links:

  • http://site.ebrary.com/lib/mansfield/docDetail.action?docID=10437710
 
  • http://site.ebrary.com/lib/mansfield/docDetail.action?docID=10419367&p00=computer
EBSCOhost
  1. Locate the article and view the full text or citation
  2. Click on Permalink on the right side of the screen
  3. Copy the URL

 


View Screenshot
of Link Location

Example Link:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=51902682&site=ehost-live&scope=site

 

Note about eBooks in EBSCOhost:

Due to license restrictions, only one user may view an ebook at a time. This may cause problems for your students as they will be blocked from using the book if another student is using it at the same time.


Films on Demand

  1. Locate the video or video segment
  2. Below the video, locate the Segment URL or Title URL
  3. Copy the URL

 

See screenshot
View Screenshot
of Link Location

Example Link:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8047&xtid=40941&loid=72347
Gale / Infotrac / Gale Virtual Reference Library
  1. Locate the article and view the full text
  2. Select Bookmark
  3. Copy the URL
  4. Add Library Prefix if necessary (see info on the right)

 

See screenshot
View Screenshot
of Link Location for
GVRL and Infotrac

 

 

If you copied the link on campus, you need to add the Library Prefix.

Example Link:

  • http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/bic1/ReferenceDetailsPage
    /ReferenceDetailsWindow?displayGroupName
    =Reference&prodId=BIC1
    &action=e&windowstate=normal&catId=&documentId=GALE%
    7CH1000166745&mode=view&
    userGroupName=mans42571&
    jsid=d6f62df144b858e276d994dc2bf01e17

Example Link with Library Prefix:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://ic.galegroup.com/
    ic/bic1/ReferenceDetailsPage/ReferenceDetailsWindow?displayGroupName=
    Reference&prodId=BIC1&action=e&
    windowstate=normal&catId=&
    documentId=GALE%7CH1000166745&
    mode=view&userGroupName
    =mans42571&jsid=d6f62df144b858e276d994dc2bf01e17
JSTOR
  1. Locate the article and view the full text
  2. Copy the Article Stable URL, near the top of the page
  3. Add the Library Prefix

 

See screenshot
View Screenshot
of Link Location

Example Link:

  • http://www.jstor.org/stable/3792961

Example Link with Library Prefix:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/3792961
LexisNexis
  1. Locate the article and view the full text
  2. In the upper right corner, click on the link icon.
  3. A new screen will appear. Right click on the article title.
  4. Copy the Shortcut / Link Location / Link Address
  5. Add the Library Prefix

See screenshotView Screenshot

If you copied the link on campus, you need to add the Library Prefix.

Example Link:

  • http://www.lexisnexis.com/lnacui2api/api/version1/getDocCui?lni=53N3-86C1-DY2T-C4GC&csi=8355&hl=t&hv=t&hnsd=f&hns=t&hgn=t&oc=00240&perma=true

Example Link with Library Prefix:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/lnacui2api/api/version1/getDocCui?lni=53N3-86C1-DY2T-C4GC&csi=8355&hl=t&hv=t&hnsd=f&hns=t&hgn=t&oc=00240&perma=true

If you copied the link off campus, you are done.

Example Link:

  • http://www.lexisnexis.com.proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/lnacui2api/api/version1/getDocCui?lni=53N3-86C1-DY2T-C4GC&csi=8355&hl=t&hv=t&hnsd=f
Nursing E-Book Collection from OVID
  1. Locate the section of a book that you want.
  2. Click on "Email Jumpstart"
  3. Copy the URL in the comments of the email
  4. Add the Library Prefix


View Screenshot
of Link Location

Example Link:

  • http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=booktext&D=books1&AN=00139878/5th_Edition/7&XPATH=/OVIDBOOK%5b1%5d/TXTBKBD%5b1%5d/DIVISIONA%5b3%5d/CHAPTER%5b1%5d

Example Link with Library Prefix:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&CSC=Y&NEWS=N&PAGE=booktext&D=books1&AN=00139878/5th_Edition/7&XPATH=/OVIDBOOK%5b1%5d/TXTBKBD%5b1%5d/DIVISIONA%5b3%5d/CHAPTER%5b1%5d
Oxford Music Online
  1. Locate the item/page
  2. Copy the URL of the page
  3. Add Library Prefix if necessary (see info on the right)

 

See screenshot
View Screenshot
of Link Location

If you copied the link on campus, you need to add the Library Prefix.

Example Link:

  • http://www.oxfordartonline.com/
    subscriber/article/grove/art/T025075#T025075

Example Link with Library Prefix:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://www.oxfordartonline.com/
    subscriber/article/grove/art/T025075#T025075

If you copied the link off campus, you are done.

Example Link:

  • http://www.oxfordartonline.com.proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/subscriber/article/grove/art/T025075#T025075
ScienceDirect
  1. Locate the article and view the full text
  2. Locate the link that starts with "doi"
  3. Copy the link (not the text)
  4. Add Library Prefix if necessary (see info on the right)

 

See screenshot
View Screenshot
of Link Location

If you copied the link on campus, you need to add the Library Prefix.

Example Link:

  • http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.foodchem.2006.02.040

Example Link with Library Prefix:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.foodchem.2006.02.040

If you copied the link off campus, you are done.

Example Link:

  • http://dx.doi.org.proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/10.1016/j.foodchem.2006.02.040
Teaching Books
  1. View the item/page
  2. Copy the URL of the page
  3. Add Library Prefix if necessary (see info on the right)

 

See screenshot
View Screenshot
of Link Location

If you copied the link on campus, you need to add the Library Prefix.

Example Link:

  • http://www.teachingbooks.net/agr.cgi?url_id=736&r=1&ri=551

Example Link with Library Prefix:

  • http://proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/login?url=http://www.teachingbooks.net/agr.cgi?url_id=736&r=1&ri=551

If you copied the link off campus, you are done.

Example Link:

  • http://www.teachingbooks.net.proxy-mansfield.klnpa.org/agr.cgi?url_id=736&r=1&ri=551

Shortening that URL

If the URL you create is too long, feel free to use TinyURL or Bit.ly to shorten the URL. Be sure to add the Library Prefix to the URL before you use TinyURL or Bit.ly.

Need Help?

If you need help linking to library resources or are wanting to link to something not on this list, please contact:

Sheila Kasperek
skaspere@mansfield.edu
570-662-4675