Starting Points
- Internet Directory for Botany
- Selected Botanical WWW SitesComprehensive list of Botany web sites (University of Florida)
Online Botanical Dictionaries
- Glossary of Roots of Botanical Names
- On-Line Glossary of Technical Terms in Plant PathologyFrom Cornell University
Images
Names and Taxonomy
Algae
- Algaebase: Database of algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms
Bryology
- Bryology (Missouri Botanical Garden): Contains links to a wide range of bryological specimen databases
Fungi
- Dictionary of Fungi 10th edition (CAB International)
- Index Fungorum (CAB International): Contains over 370,000 names of fungi
Plants
- Index Nominum Genericorum (Smithsonian Institution): Compilation of generic names published for all organisms covered by the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature.
- Integrated Taxonomic Information System (United States Government): Information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world (United States Dept. of Agriculture)
- International Plant Names Index: Database containing the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants.
- Kew Database (Royal Botanic Gardens): The Kew Record database contains references to all publications relating to the taxonomy of flowering plants, gymnosperms and ferns.
- National Plant Database (United States Dept. of Agriculture): The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories
- Index of Botanical Specimens (Harvard University): Specimen records, primarily type specimens from the Harvard University Herbaria and New England Botanical Club.
- Tropicos (Missouri Botanical Garden): Largest database of plant information contains fully web-searchable records for over 900,000 plant names and nearly 2 million specimens.
Plant Diseases
- Common Names of Plant Diseases (The American Phytopathological Society)
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
