Banned Books at Mansfield University Library
The North Hall Library has many banned or challenged books in its collection. Here is a list of some books that were banned or challenged in the US that are available for you to read.
| 1984 by George Orwell | PR6029.R8 N5 |
| A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest Gaines | PS3557 .A355 L1993 |
| Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain | PS1305 A1 1996 |
| Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain | Juvenile Collection PS1306. A1 1969 |
| Annie on my Mind by Nancy Garden |
Juvenile Collection |
| Are You There God, It's Me, Margaret by Judy Blume | Juvenile Collection PZ7 B6267 Ar |
| Asking About Sex and Growing Up | HQ53.C645. 1988 |
| Beloved by Toni Morrison | PS3563.O8749 B4 1987 |
| Bless me, Ultima by Rudolfo A. Anaya | Juvenile Collection PS 3551 .N27 A536 1972 |
| Blubber by Judy Blume | Juvenile Collection PZ7.B6265B1 1974 |
| Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison | PS3563 08749 B55 2000 |
| Boys and Sex by Wardell Pomeroy | HQ41. P614 |
| Brave New World by Aldous Huxley | PR6015 U9 B65 1998 |
| Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson | Juvenile Collection PZ7.P273Br |
| Captain Underpants (Series) | Juvenile Collection PZ7 .P63123 |
| Catch 22 by Joseph Heller | PS3515.E32 C2 |
| Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger | PS3537 A426 C 3 |
| Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl. | Juvenile Collection PZ7 .D1515Ch |
| Chocolate War by Robert Cormier | Juvenile Collection PZ7C81634Ch |
| Color Purple by Alice Walker | PS3573.A425 C6 1985 |
| Crazy Lady by Jane Conly | Juvenile Collection Z7.C761846Cr 1993 |
| Daddy's Roommate by Michael Willhoite | Juvenile Collection PZ7.W655485Dad1991 |
| Day No Pigs Would Die by Robert N. Peck | PS3566 E254 D3 |
| Deenie by Judy Blume | Juvenile Collection PZ7. B6265De |
| Egypt Game by Zilpha Keatley Snyder | Juvenile Collection PZ7 .S68522Eg |
| Face on the Milk Carton by Caroline Cooney | Juvenile Collection PZ7. C7834 Fac1991 |
| Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury | PS3503.R167 |
| Fallen Angels by Walter Dean Myers | Juvenile Collection PZ7. M992 FAL 1988 |
| Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes | Juvenile Collection PS3561. E78xF58 |
| Giver by Lois Lowry | PZ7. L9673Gi 1993 |
| Go Ask Alice by Anonymous | Juvenile Collection PZ7.G534 1971 |
| Goats by Brock Cole | Juvenile Collection PZ7. C67342Go 1987 |
| Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell | PS3525.I972 G6 |
| Goosebumps (Series) by RL Stine | Juvenile Collection PZ7. S86035Gir1996 |
| Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck | PS3537.T3234 G7 |
| Great Gilly Hopkins by Katherine Paterson | Juvenile Collection PZ7.P273Gr |
| Guess What? By Mem Fox | Juvenile Collection PZ7 F8377Gu 1990 |
| Halloween ABC by Eve Merriam | Juvenile Collection Oversize PS 3525 E.639 H34 1995 |
| Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood | Juvenile Collection PR9199.3A8 H35 1987 |
| Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling | Juvenile Collection PZ7.R79835. Haj 1999 |
| Headless Cupid by Zilpha Keately Snyfer | PZ7. S68522 HE |
| Heather has Two Mommies by Leslea Newman | Juvenile Collection HZ75.53 N486 1989 |
| Howl by Allen Ginsberg | PS3513.I74 H6 1959 |
| I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou | Juvenile Collection E185.97 A56 A3 1970 |
| In the Night Kitchen by Maurice Sendak | Juvenile Collection PZ7.S47In |
| It's Perfectly Normal by Robie Harris | HQ53 H37 1994 |
| It's So Amazing by Robie Harris | Juvenile Collection Oversize QP251.5 H37 |
| James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl | Juvenile Collection PZ8. D137 Jam |
| Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George | Juvenile Collection PZ. G2933Ju |
| Kaffir Boy by Mark Mathabane | DT 1949 .M38 A3 1998 |
| Killing Mr. Griffin By Lois Duncan | Juvenile Collection PZ7 .D9117 Kil 1978 |
| Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein | Juvenile Collection PS3569.I4 7224 L5 1981 |
| Little Black Sambo by Helen Bannerman | Juvenile Collection PZ7 .B227 Ls 1976 |
| Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder | Juvenile Collection PZ7 .W6461Li |
| Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder | Juvenile Collection PZ7 .W6461Lit |
| Lorax by Dr. Seuss |
Juvenile Collection PZ8.3 .G276Lo |
| Lord of the Flies by William Golding | PR6013 O35 L6 |
| Martian chronicles by Ray Bradbury | PS3503.R167 M3 1954 |
| Mommy Laid an Egg by Babette Cole | Juvenile Collection HQ53. C64 1993 |
| More Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz | Juvenile Collection PZ 8.1 s399 MO 1984 |
| My friend Flicka by Mary O'Hara | PS3529.H296 M9 |
| Native Son by Richard Wright | PS3545 R815 N3 1969 |
| New Joy Of Gay Sex by Charles Silverstein | HQ 76. S533 2003 |
| Odyssey by Homer | PA4025.A5 |
| Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck | PS3537.T3234 04 1963 |
| On My Honor by Marion Dane Bauer | Juvenile Collection PZ7 B3262On 1986 |
| Ordinary People by Judith Guest | Juvenile Collection PS3557 U345 O7 |
| Outsiders by S.E. Hinton | Juvenile Collection PZ7.H5976 Ou 1989 |
| Pigman by Paul Zindel | Juvenile Collection PZ7.Z647 Pi |
| Roll of Thunder Hear my Cry by Mildred Taylor | Juvenile Collection PZ7 .T21723 Ro |
| Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut | PS3572.O5 S57 |
| Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison | PS3563. O8749 S6 1987 |
| Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlien | PS3515 .E288 S8 1969 |
| Stupids Step Out by Harry Allard | Juvenile Collection PZ7. A413 ST |
| Sylvester and the Magic Pebble by William Steig | Juvenile Collection Oversize PZ10.3 .S816Sy |
| That Was Then, This is Now by S.E. Hinton | Juvenile Collection PZ7. H5876Th 1980 |
| The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende | PQ8090.1 L54 C313 |
| The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis | Juvenile Collection PR6023.E926 L5 |
| To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee | PS3523.E45 T6 1960 |
| Uncle Tom's Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe | PS2954 .U5 |
| Welcome to the monkey house by Kurt Vonnegut | PS3572.O5 W4 |
| What's happening to my body? : a growing up guide for mothers and daughters by Lynda Madaras | RJ144 .M3 1983 |
| What's happening to my body? book for boys : a growing up guide for parents and sons by Lynda Madaras | RJ143 .M33 1984 |
| Where Did I Come From? by Peter Mayle | Juvenile Collection QP251.5 N38 1975 |
| Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein | Juvenile Collection PS3569.I47224 W54 1974 |
| Where's Waldo? by Martin Hanford | Juvenile Collection PZ7. H1918 Wh 1987 |
| Witches of Worm by Zilpha Keatley Snyder | Juvenile Collection PZ7 .S68522Wi |
| Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L'Engle | Juvenile Collection PZ7.L5385Wr |
Banned Books Online
An online exhibit of books that people have or have tried to censor.
More Info on Banned Books
For a list of additional banned/challenged books please see the American Library Association's list:

Loading...
